An ode to Real Simple magazine.

I canceled my subscription to Real Simple magazine today. I started my subscription to this embodiment of domesticity sometime in 2007. To explain why I canceled, I should explain why I subscribed in the first place.

I had ordered Real Simple as a gift for a friend. She loved quirky home decor and had an eye for fashion and, not having much knowledge of magazines in my early 20s, I confused Domino Magazine with Real Simple. I corrected my error with my friend, but decided to switch the magazine subscription to my name after reading an issue.

The magazine was a reference for all the skills I lacked: Homemaking. Cooking. Fashion. Shopping. Socializing. I had launched into my adult life with a minimal skill set for these activities, a reflection of my life growing up. My home ec classes only taught us how to cook breakfast, how to sew a pillow, and that sometimes store brands were quality food choices. My childhood meals often consisted of what we affectionately termed “Box + meat = food”. My family never had guests over. My parents really didn’t have friends or family. Our decor was limited to family photos and white walls. I also didn’t know about how to “dress up”. My mother never wore make up. Never went out. Shoes were tennis shoes and our uniform was a shirt and jeans/sweats. As I would meet others and learn of their experiences growing up I would feel these were fortunate circumstances, comparatively, but I could not deny that I was deficient in some essential skills.

Real Simple became my manual. I diligently snipped out recipes. I saved articles that would teach me how to interact with coworkers and navigate social situations with friends. I slowly began to add accessories to my outfits. We bought art. We had lovely holiday decor. I became a gift giving queen. I still really minimally wear makeup, but when I do I’m happy with it. I was so eager to learn these things. It filled in the gaps I had. It did it with a kind, neutral tone. Sage advice that some people would have had passed along to them from family or a grandparent… I had the pages of my magazine.

Today, I follow several blogs that cover my favorite topics and pinterest is full of ideas. I’m sure Real Simple may attribute some of their decreased sales to these facts. I’m sure my circumstances are not uncommon. But for me… The real reason I unsubscribed is that I’m grown. I’m 29. I think I’ve graduated from Real Simple University. When flipping through my latest issue, I realized that the magazine didn’t grab me like they used to. It was time.

So thank you, Real Simple. You taught me a lot. You equipped me with skills I have found so useful in my adult life. But it’s time to leave the nest. I’m keeping you friended on Pinterest. I’ll recommend you to young people I meet that, like me, need a nice neutral place to learn about life without fear of judgment from the inquiry. Thanks for the assistance with my wedding, which was so helpful since we were one the first of our friends to do it and my family was not involved in that day. Thanks for the meals. The Bed, Bath, and Beyond coupons. The stories of other families. Thanks for everything. I might have left, but there are many more readers where I came from who have much to learn.

One thought on “An ode to Real Simple magazine.

  1. […] subscribed to magazines for a long time. I loved Wired for years and Real Simple magazine stepped in and gave me wisdom and advice that I couldn’t get from my fami…. But there’s one magazine I’ve been buying since issue one. One magazine that […]

Leave a Reply

