Here’s a silly story about Nick’s wedding anniversary present.

I figured an easy way to get back in the groove of blogging was to post some recycled content! This was originally written August 5th, 2010 and it’s not like anyone’s going to remember anything from back then, right? We were all babies then! Enjoy!

 

I was at Toys R Us when I formulated the Secret Plan Operation “Tinfoil Surprise”. See, Nick has wanted to play Red Dead Redemption. He loves video games and loves westerns so its natural that he’d want Red Dead Redemption. But he had already forbade me from buying it for him.

I was at Toys R Us to buy a baby shower gift anyway, and I figured it’d make a good wedding anniversary gift for Nick.

But if I bought it today, our wedding anniversary was like 22 days later! How would I pull this off?! It quickly became clear what I needed to do.

Jump to our apartment a few hours later!

Nick: I hope you didn’t do anything silly while you were at Toys R Us. Like buy Red Dead Redemption.
Me: Noooo… of COOOURSE not! *grabs Toys R Us bag* *grabs roll of tinfoil* *goes into the back of the apartment*
Nick: uhhhhh
Me: I NEED TO GO IN THE BEDROOM FOR A MINUTE

A FEW MINUTES LATER I EMERGE FROM THE BACK OF THE APARTMENT WRAPPED IN TINFOIL

Me: NICK. NICK I’M HERE FROM THE FUTURE.
Nick: what! what the- I swear! what!
Me: I AM HERE FROM THE FUTURE WHICH YOU CAN CLEARLY SEE FROM MY CLOTHING MADE OF TINFOIL
(It is literally a sheet of tinfoil I’m holding up around my torso.)
Nick: Yes, CLEARLY you’re from the future.
Me: You see, I’m here from August 28th, our wedding anniversary, with your present. A copy of Red Dead Redemption. See, you were so sad that I waited until our anniversary to give this to you instead of giving it to you today, the day I bought it, THAT YOU DIED
Nick: I died?!
Me: YES YOU DIED AND I WAS SAD SO I CAME BACK HERE FROM THE FUTURE TO THE PAST TO GIVE THIS TO YOU
Nick: Oh, thank you Lallers!
Me: I love you and don’t die and Lauren wants a flying car. Because they have them in the future where I’m from.
Nick: uhhh okay
Me: OKAY BYE

I then ran back, tore the tinfoil off, and ran out.

Me: Sorry Nick, I passed out there, that is SO WEIRD!

Nick then proceeds to explain that Lauren from the future came to give him a game. I just kept loudly saying THAT’S SO CRAZY, HOW WEIRD over and over.

I am awesome.

Leave a Reply

