Death Cab For Cutie – You Can Do Better Than Me

I should start this post by saying I love my husband, a lot. We met on the internet, before everyone was using OKCupid and Match.com to meet people. We got to know each other on message boards and in IRC rooms before giving a long distance relationship a shot. It’s 12 years strong at this point and we’re crazy about each other. But sometimes? Sometimes things get snarky. You have a spat in a car. And then, THEN, the shuffle on your iPod plays a Death Cab For Cutie song entitled ‘You Can Do Better Than Me’ with lyrics like:

I’m starting to feel
We stay together
Out of fear
Of dying alone

GAH. You sloooowly turn your heads to look at each other, not saying a word. There’s nothing TO say. Ben Gibbard is narrating it all for you.

I have to face the truth
That no one could ever look at me
Like you do
Like I’m something worth
Holding to

Years later, if I hear this song, I think about this little squabble. And how after the song played I snapped off the radio and we sat in silence for a bit. And then we apologized to each other. Because that’s what you do. I don’t know that we could ‘do better’ than one another. We can just try to be better.

Leave a Reply

