Dumping Trump

Here’s my new year’s resolution: I’m not talking about Donald Trump anymore.

I’m normally not one for resolutions. The fresh crispness of a new year doesn’t make me want to run out and try to take up jogging or make plans to reconnect with people I haven’t spoken to in awhile. I normally take a week or so to get used to writing the new year in emails and the like. And other than hoping for a good year ahead and doubling down on optimism, I usually don’t make a deal of it. I like the other markers for passing time: birthdays, weddings, Fourth of July parties. These mean more to me than when a clock flips to zero and starts again.

Please understand then how serious this is when I say I am adopting one. And that this new year’s resolution is dumping Donald Trump.

I know I’ve talked about Trump before. I’ve posted about him here. I plan to take that article I wrote and submit it for competitions. I even bought my office Coffee by Trump for Christmas as a joke. Infact, this post was going to be a fake review for Coffee by Trump by Donald Trump. But it’s not.

It’s not because I’m part of the problem. And I see that now.

Every time we mention his name, we reinforce his brand. We make him a household name and continue to normalize him and everything he stands for. We can’t continue to take this man seriously. Even if you find yourself agreeing with his stances or what he advocates for (which I can’t say I do) he’s become a caricature of himself. We don’t talk about his hair or his wives anymore because we don’t have to. It’s an endless regurgitation of the last thing he said, or someone’s reaction to the last thing he said, or he himself talking about the thing he talked about.

I’m done.

Yes, I know, I’m doing it now. This post is about him. But I need to plant my flag and I need there to be an explanation. So when people say, “blah blah blah Donald Trump” and my reply of “who’s this now?” is perplexing, they might understand.

I also plan to take conversations about him and turn them to other things. Topics the public finds endlessly more interesting to discuss. Specifically:

  • food (probably bacon)
  • Florida (or that thing that crazy guy in Florida did)
  • what you would do if you won that billion dollar lotto (probably not going to be you, probably a guy in Florida instead)

So that’s it, Don. It’s been real. Thanks for the memories. You’re kind of a terrible person!

No more Trump. Starting now.

One thought on “Dumping Trump

  1. I’m with you. I always thought it was a joke that he was running for president,

Leave a Reply

