Another Great Show Just Ended: Goodbye to Gravity Falls

This week marked the end of one of the funniest and smartest TV shows I’ve ever watched. It was for kids, sure, but was also fun for adults. The show was Gravity Falls and I will miss it so.

Gravity Falls can best be described as ‘Twin Peaks: For Kids!’ Twins Dipper and Mabel go off to Gravity Falls, Oregon to spend the summer with their Great Uncle (Grunkle) Stan. Stan runs a tourist trap off the highway filled with all kinds of manufactured oddities, but the kids quickly learn that their Grunkle’s collection isn’t the only strangeness afoot in Gravity Falls. There’s puzzles, monsters, time travel, teenage angst, and feelings galore.

We’re quickly introduced to other characters that we grow to know and form friendships with. That might sound silly for two dimensional people, but you soon know how they think and act and really miss them between episodes.

The show is cute and funny like kids shows are, but often asks viewers to dig deeper. Sometimes with heartfelt emotion but sometimes showing us a glimpse into pure nightmare fuel. It is always quality. Well. Was.

Well-made shows usually have a team behind them that know their story has a beginning, middle, and an end. Gravity Falls, after two seasons, came to its ending Monday night. The mysteries are answered and the adventure is over.

I suppose I was drawn to this TV show not only because it’s so great, but because I am eerily similar to the character Mabel. In ways that have made my husband pause the show and slooowly turn to look at me. “Lauren. Why are you in the TV?”

Gravity Falls is pretty weird, it’s true. But it’s also just really damn silly. I think that what Mabel and I are at the core of our being: really damn silly.

It’s something I used to hide a lot. Wanting to appear more serious and adult. I have to imagine the results were like this clip:

But as I’ve gotten older and more comfortable with myself, I see my silliness as an asset. It’s fine and makes my day to day a lot more fun. And shows like Gravity Falls have normalized silliness a lot. We’re all a little weird. And it’s awesome. Seeeriously.

One thought on “Another Great Show Just Ended: Goodbye to Gravity Falls

  1. Silly is great. I think it might release endorphins. We loved being silly as kids and I don’t think we should ever stop.

Leave a Reply

